54 at 54 Update – Week 5

Running shoes

My son is a genius.  Okay, all of my children are geniuses (as well as my grandchildren…duh) but this particular son is an Athletic Training genius.

My youngest at home (by 21 minutes thank you very much) is an Athletic Training major in college.  He’s very passionate about it and it shows in his accolades and grades.  What’s the old adage?  Do something you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.  I think this is it for him…at least for now.

I’ve been texting and calling him for weeks now to help me diagnose what in the hell was wrong with my right knee/leg that had me in pain as I walk/run and then limping the next day.  The pain started on the inside of my knee and ran down my leg.  It was really beginning to bother me because it was keeping me from running AT ALL and I could only walk at a speed of 2.5 mph (which, let’s face it, is barely a stroll).  I was watching all my hard earned dollars spent on that treadmill going down the drain.  More importantly, I was watching all my dreams for this year going down with it.

I was really depressed…old…out of shape…no hope.

out of shape

I asked him to come home and take a look at my leg as well as help me find words to explain to a doctor (if necessary) what was happening.  I needed to determine if this was pain or injury and if I should be resting/icing or working through the pain.

He came home last Friday.  He sat me up on the kitchen table and began palpating, twisting, pushing and pulling on my leg.  He asked me what kind of shoes I wore and whether they were neutral or correcting for something.  I told him that a couple of years ago I was fitted by a local running store to correct for under-pronation or supination.  I could see that this confused him.

Then he told me to stand in front of him, barefoot, and march in place.

“Mom.  Not only are you almost flat footed, but you pronate…not supinate.”

Wait.  What?

Holy screw-up Batman!  Are you fucking kidding me?  We spoke for a while longer and although I was still skeptical (I mean seriously – he’s a kid in his second year of college for god’s sake) I agreed to return the shoes that had just arrived and order a new pair with arch support and mild pronation correction.

I didn’t work out on Friday, Saturday or Sunday and iced my knee all three days.  On Monday I wore a pair of really, really old running shoes to walk, albeit slowly, through my workout.  There was no pain.  Just from switching shoes.  My new shoes arrived on Tuesday and I ran on the treadmill through my c25K program and then walked another 30 minutes at 3.2 mph.

No pain.  Not on the treadmill.  Not that evening and, most importantly, not the next day.  I’ve continued to work out hard the rest of the week and there is no pain in my knee.  My arches are sore but I need to work those muscles so I expected that (he gave me some exercises to do).

So you see?  My son really IS a genius!  Okay, okay – but he’s really good at this shit and I’m really proud.

Moving on…(Literally!  Get it?  Ha!  I slay me!)

My co-worker is off to Disney today to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon on Sunday morning.  She wants me to run it with her next year.

I think I just found my next goal.

disney-princess-half-logo
2016 here I come!

 

Also, I’m back to tracking my food.  I just seem to lose my mind when I’m not paying attention to what, how much and when I eat.  I tried to use the Weight Watcher app again but I just don’t like that point system plus it’s 20 bucks a month.  I’m much more comfortable with My Fitness Pal which sync’s to my FitBit and has every single food under the sun in it.

Still no significant weight loss.  Whatevs.

This week’s stats:  64, 111 Steps/21.29 miles

Namaste

21 thoughts on “54 at 54 Update – Week 5

  1. Can you son take a ride up (or down, or over) to PA and check me out? Man, I would seriously bet I have something similar going on.

    Still think of you every time I exercise, and still incredibly inspired by these weekly post!

    So happy you got that problem corrected, I wish I was still using Fitbit so we could be buddies (I switched over to Garmin Vivosmart, so if you ever make that switch, let me know). I miss all my Fitbit buddies!

    Thanks, as always, for the update!

    1. Hi Josie,
      If you have a Fleet Feet near you, or any good running store, you can go in for a treadmill test and they will recommend shoes for you. I run every day, and just started to get strange pain in my shins, I went in, and they recommended a different shoe than the one I have been wearing for 5 years.
      Give it a try. 🙂

    1. I’ve always known how important shoes are because I was so anal about it back in my step aerobic days. I just didn’t realize the mechanics of running were so important to selection. So glad I got that straightened out!

      Princess…hmmm…I don’t think I’ve EVER been called THAT. 😉

      Thanks Lisa,
      Sherry

  2. I love MFP and agree on tracking and accountability. I fight doing it, but it really works. So glad you got the knee issue figured out. So touching that your son helped you with it and that he’s doing what he loves.

    1. Whenever I’m feeling low about having to track and be accountable, I go out to their success stories and it never fails to lift me up and get me motivated.

      BTW – I am loving your profile pic. Gray suits you. You’re gorgeous.

      Sherry

  3. Phewf! I’m so happy your knee is good and yes! Thank goodness for great sons!!!
    That 1/2 marathon looks pretty interesting….I’m gonna have to look into that one…especially if you’ll be there. 😉. Let’s hook up on fitbit girl!! Xo

  4. I can always tell when it’s time for new shoes. For me, the cushioning always breaks down before the soles or the outsides. I’ve got many pairs of retired running shoes that I use for casual wear or yardwork and stuff.

    1. Exactly. I used to toss old aerobic shoes and people thought I was crazy! My group fitness shoes never touched pavement so they always looked brand new when the inside was beat to hell!

      The “wrong” shoes I have are going to Goodwill though. They are practically brand new and not even fit for casual use for me. Someone should get some use out of them.

      Sherry

  5. You may want to look into some inserts for your shoes if your arches hurt. They have them in running stores for big $$. You can go in there, get a recommendation, then go to Wal-Mart for the cheaper version. 🙂
    Good for you for getting back on track, and of course for the brilliance that clearly runs in your family and must have come from you!

    1. Ahem…but of course!

      I’ve thought about the inserts but I’m going to give it another couple of weeks (mainly to get these shoes broken in) before I see about getting fitted for them.

      Thanks my friend!
      Sherry

So...what do you think?

