54 at 54 Friday Update – Week 4

8 weeks

Here we are at week 4!  Here are my stats…

82,875 steps and 34.76 miles (walk/run)

This is my best week yet and I can feel it.  I bumped the treadmill speed up from 2.8 mph to 3.2 mph (on my way to 4 mph) when walking.  My runs are still at or a little over 4 mph.  I’ve done something to the muscle that runs down the inside of my leg (not the adductors…this one goes from the hip, crosses over the quad and then down the inside of my knee and shin).  I think it’s just overuse and likely will require compression when I run but my Athletic Trainer son is coming home tonight to check it out and recommend some therapy.

So per my little meme up there, it’s week 4 so I should be seeing some changes.  The scale still isn’t cooperating – I got on this morning but won’t again until week 12 – but I have to say…my body is changing.  My jeans fit better (we have casual Friday around here), my breath control is much better and I just generally feel better.  Some days I’m still bloated (all those veggies) so I feel fat but I think I am shrinking.  Guess its time to break out the tape measurer.

Oh chocolate how you mock me!!!  I’m still struggling with the chocolate and the chips but I’m limiting any junk food to that – no matter what my emotions tell me they want.  No cheeseburgers or French fries or ice cream for this chick.  I mean seriously…I have to draw the line somewhere right?

All in all its been a good week – especially if you factor in all the emotional stuff.  It feels like progress and I like that.  It feels like quiet determination.

Happy Valentine’s Day weekend everyone!

Namaste

4 thoughts on “54 at 54 Friday Update – Week 4

  1. You are doing amazing work on many levels. I am so happy to hear you are still at this, and seeing results. Fuck the scale. We are so wrapped up in that fucking number. As long as you are feeling better, clothes are fitting better, etc. You are getting the results from the work. The scale takes its own damn time.
    Rock on!!

So...what do you think?

