smh*

Recently I developed an eating plan for myself because I was tired of eating crap, tired of gaining weight and just plain tired.  It’s a very simple plan.  I call it the 4by3plus2.  Basically I made a list of whole foods that I like, scoured the internet for recipes and ideas and created a spreadsheet with meals and snacks.  4 meals a day, 300 calories or less each plus a 200 calorie snack at the end of the day.  I shoot for between 1200-1500 calories a day and with only two exceptions have stuck to it.

There are no hard and fast rules except that if it goes in my mouth I have to count it.  I try to only eat whole foods. stay away from anything processed (including lunch meat…yuck), choose whole grains, limit sugar (including sweetners like Truvia and Agave) and stay away from any and all fast food (which I already do anyway).  That’s it!  I still get my coffee with creamer, my diet sodas and, if I have a craving, I can eat it provided it falls within the 4by3plus2 range.

Essentially – I’m just making smart food choices.  It ain’t rocket science people.

It’s been awesome.  I’m in week 4 and I feel great.  I even lost a few pounds although I don’t really give a shit anymore.  If I lose some weight – GREAT!  If I don’t?  Fuck it.  As long as I’m on a healthy path, I’m good.

Here’s what makes me smh though.

Today I got caught short at work because I ate my yellow bell pepper after my salad when I should have saved it for my veggies and dip snack later in the day.  So when 3:30 rolled around and my stomach was growling I didn’t have anything to shut it up.  Hmmm…what to do?

We have a little convenience store on the first floor of our building so I went down and picked up a Nature’s Valley Protein Bar.  190 calories, 10 grams of protein – awesome!

I brought it back upstairs, poured my diet Pepsi and bit into my protein bar.

And I got happy.

I’m not talking about shut your stomach up happy or settle in for the last couple hours of work happy.  I’m talking about endorphins kicking in, first glass of wine, just after sex happy.  At that moment I knew that all was right with the world.

smh

Let’s get something straight.  I know I’m an addict and that particular part of me is also addicted to sugar…and this “protein bar” was loaded with sugar (6 grams).  I also went into it with my eyes wide open…I knew I was going to eat it and want MORE.  It’s just how I roll.  But this is the first time that I was able to actually pinpoint those happy hormones doing their dance in my synapses. 

It blew my mind and, to be honest, scared me just a little bit. 

So I’ll go back to avoiding all that processed, preserved and sugared up food and just stick with my healthy and whole foods and if I get caught short again…well…I’ll find a tree and chew on some bark or something.

Namaste

*text speak for “shake my head”

3 thoughts on “smh*

  1. Isn’t it crazy that something as benign as a granola bar can get us all jazzed with its sugared and packaged deliciousness? It’s like crack. But seriously, you’re doing great! That sounds like a solid, healthy plan and what a reward to really FEEL better. Years ago I could not get a handle on my sugar cravings. It didn’t help that I was running miles and miles and miles every day. My whole system was tortured and confused. During this time I jacked my knee all up snow skiing and had to quit running. Naturally I was terrified that I was going to balloon so I took a drastic step and cut out sugar (for the most part) altogether. It was life-changing. I didn’t realize how addicted I was. I felt so much better. I eat sweets occasionally now (it’s been over 10 years since I quit sugar and crazy running) but they make me feel horrible. It’s weird but after cutting them for so long, they don’t hold the power over me that they once did — a strange indifference now. Anyway, you’re doing great and it sounds like you know well what to eat and what to stay away from. Keep up the good work!

    1. All that stuff I said about indifference to sugar…ALL LIES. Halloween happened and I let myself get into my kids’ stash. I’ve been hyped up on sugar all weekend, but it all stops tomorrow! I hope you’ve done better sticking with your plan. I just had to share cause now I’m shaking my head. UGH!!!!

So...what do you think?

