It’s Gratitude Time

I had some “stuff” happen this weekend which made me realize that I hadn’t taken the time to do a gratitude post in a very long time. So here goes…

 

I am extremely grateful that my granddaughter is going to be fine. She had a case of Intusesseception this weekend that had her traveling by ambulance to a Children’s Hospital about 90 miles away from my nephew and his wife’s home in Oklahoma.  It was scary (doubly so since I’m so damn far away) and I was a wreck most of Friday and the first half of Saturday.  Fortunately it cleared up without surgery and she’s home now.  Thank you God…you’re the BEST.

I am grateful and very humbled by the prayers that went up after a simple text I sent to a few friends.  I love my friends – they rock.

I am grateful for an HGTV/Pinterest obsession that provided me with enough knowledge and courage to install a backsplash in my kitchen this weekend all by myself (with a lot of cleanup and support provided by the hubs).  A mosaic glass tile backsplash people! Those little fuckers move around when you’re trying to place them!  I still have to grout it and when it’s done, you know I’ll be posting pictures.  (This is me patting myself on the back…pat pat pat.)

I am grateful for a loving family that is putting up with my sometimes batshit crazy demands during this redecorating extravaganza I am currently undergoing.  I think I know exactly what I want and, when faced with other (easier) options I am quick to fold my arms and refuse to change my mind.  (I’m not stubborn…I’m just a Taurus.)  But they are patient and have learned how to deal with mom and so they wait and approach again with samples of their proposal or a slightly different idea.  Most of the time they are right and I end up doing it their way.  I mean…I can be flexible you know.  (FYI – my husband is choking on his coffee as he reads this.)

I am grateful that Spring has finally come to the Carolinas!!!!  And therefore…

I am grateful for Flonase.

I am grateful for a promotion and a new office that I’ve decorated so that I feel warm and cozy while I work.  Lamps, plants, pictures of the family and a large photo of Audrey Hepburn from “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” go a long way to making my day enjoyable.

I am grateful that I will finally get a medical test done on Friday that I’ve been either putting off or trying to schedule for three years.  I’ll be 53 in May – I’ll leave it to your imagination to figure out which test I’m having done.

I’m grateful that the twin who is living on campus this semester is thriving like I knew he would and that the other twin is also thriving living at home.  They miss each other but they are being true to their authentic selves (one introvert like me, one extrovert like dad) and that makes me very happy and even more proud.

I am grateful that the nephew is also thriving in his new job and that, perhaps, finally, he will be proud of who he is and what he is capable of accomplishing. 

I am grateful for my oldest-at-home son as well as my daughter and her family…just because thinking about them brings light and love into my day and everyone could use more light and love in their day.

I am grateful for being Freshly Pressed.  It has introduced me to so many new bloggers who comment or “like” or just follow.  Thank you all for stopping by and taking a moment to read this drivel that I take out of my head and put onto the page from time to time.  It means the world to me.

I am grateful that on the 13th of April, I will celebrate 31 years with a man who I love more deeply everyday.  The dude rocks people…can’t emphasize that enough.  Plus, I still think he’s pretty hot.

I am grateful to have one more day of sobriety so that I can continue to discover who I am and what I want and who I love and what I like with childlike enthusiasm and wonder.

Namaste

 

 

27 thoughts on “It’s Gratitude Time

  1. Wow! So glad to hear the grandbaby is OK, poor booboo! As for that appointment: getting the girls all squished and such? Ah the joys of maturity. Thanks! I’m grateful for the read.

  2. Great post, I need to do this instead of complaining all the time. 🙂 Funny you should mention that particular test, as I type this the hubs is racing past on his way to the water closet. We will be at the hospital for a 6am start. He always has to be the first case of the day. I think it is a doctor thing.
    Glad you granddaughter is fine.
    Spring has sprung here in TN also. It is good for the soul.

    1. Gratitude is the best medication for EVERYTHING!

      I’m glad to know even doctors have to do this thing. And I’m with him…I also have the first appt of the day.

      Sherry

  3. Oh I haven’t had to have that test yet….I dread it. But I also want to live to be 100 so I am going to have to endure it at some point if I want to be around that long.

    What a fabulous gratitude list! I am so glad grand baby is ok……I will have to google whatever she had. Surgery?! Yikes! So glad it all resolved itself.

    1. I want to live to be 100 also…and still gettin’ around…so I’m going to get this over with. Just like the other tests we have done…all in the name of healthy living.

      I’m glad she’s okay too. Whew!

      Sherry

  4. I waited until I was 55 to have the test and all was well, the best news was when the doc said, ok see you in 10 years. You’ll be fine. Love the list. I followed the challenge yesterday, except for the sun salutations, it’s gone missing in Chicagoland.

    1. Yay! I’m going to post about my progress but mine is much like yours…no sun salutations yes. 😦

      The hubs is up for round two (had his first 10 years ago) but I’m having trouble getting him into the doc. Guess once was plenty for him.

      Sherry

  5. Hi,

    I saw this post the other day, but did not have enough time to comment so I’m popping back in now.. I did send out positive thoughts to your granddaughter. Hope everything is OK.

    The day before you wrote this, I told my husband we had not expressed enough gratitude lately for the the goodness and blessings in our lives.

    He agreed and so, aloud, we each offered up some thanks, even for the crazy stuff, for all the things we’ve been blessed with.

    I like to do that daily, but to be honest, I get so busy it inadvertently, falls by the wayside more often than I care to admit. Shame on me! 😦

    Your post is inspiring.

    Have a super day!

    ~Cathy~

    1. Aw thanks Cathy!!!

      I found I was getting that way as well – life has a way of sneaking up on you! So I start every day by praying in the shower (where I know I have to be) and the first thing I say is, thank you God for all my blessings. That way, even if I forget specifics I know He knows I’m grateful.

      Thanks for coming back to comment!

      Sherry

So...what do you think?

